Adding Collaborators to your WooCommerce.com account

Add Collaborators to your WooCommerce.com account to allow someone else to help manage your store/site.

This is a safe and secure alternative, allowing them access without providing a login and password.

What are Collaborators? ↑ Back to top

Collaborators are developers, members of an agency or consultants you enlist or hire to help with one or more of these tasks:

  • View and manage downloads
  • View and manage subscriptions
  • View and manage tickets on your behalf

A collaborator does not have the ability to:

  • Purchase anything on your behalf
  • Set products to auto-renew
  • Cancel renewals
  • Access order information
  • Access your private account information, including store credit card details

Note that Collaborator accounts cannot be used to activate licenses on your WooCommerce site. To activate licenses, connect your site using the account used to for the license purchase.

Send your developer or consultant this article to explain how Collaborator accounts work.

Adding a collaborator ↑ Back to top

To add a Collaborator to your account:

  1. Log into your WooCommerce.com account.
  2. Go to the Collaborators tab in your My Account.
  3. Enter the WooCommerce.com email address of the developer/person you wish to add. If the collaborator does not have a WooCommerce.com email address you can create them for free in this walkthrough.
  4. Tick the checkbox(es) of items you wish to grant access to in Select Permission(s), and select Add Collaborator.

Once a collaborator is added, their details appear under the heading My Collaborators. You can:

  • Edit their permissions
  • View an audit trail at Activity Log of what they have done on your my-account, e.g., Ticket submissions and downloads of products
  • Delete access to your account on WooCommerce.com

Collaborators receive a notification email when added to your account. He/she will also then have an option on their WooCommerce.com account to switch to managing areas of your my-account to which you gave permission.

A login and password to your account is unnecessary, keeping your account safe and secure and giving you full control.

Managing collaborators ↑ Back to top

  • Change permission(s) of a collaborator by selecting the Edit link, then ticking or unticking the checkbox(es) of permissions you prefer. Save.
  • View what a collaborator has done by selecting the Activity Log
  • Remove a collaborator by selecting Delete

Managing a client’s account ↑ Back to top

Collaborators (developers/consultants) can view and manage accounts they’ve been granted access to via their WooCommerce.com account.

To view which accounts have granted Collaborator access:

  1. Log into your WooCommerce.com account.
  2. Select the Collaborators tab on your my account page at: woocommerce.com/my-account/collaborators/

To manage a client’s account:

  1. Go to the relevant Downloads, Subscriptions and/or Tickets tabs on your WooCommerce.com account.
  2. Select the client’s account/email address from the drop-down that appears, and the page refreshes with that content.

A red notification bar appears at the top when managing items on behalf of a client to ensure you are aware of which account you are accessing.

Subscriptions

  • Access your client’s product keys and see when their products expire
  • You cannot set products to renew or disable auto-renew; your client must do this themselves

Downloads

  • Download a client’s products to upload to their site, and access links to relevant documentation
  • Your activity is logged on their personal account

Tickets

  • View, submit and manage a client’s tickets on their behalf

WooCommerce - the most customizable eCommerce platform for building your online business.

Back to the top